I am a Traveler

I was born to travel. I knew from a very young age that I would visit other countries and see the world.  I remember being 13 years old and making a plan that included “getting a good degree” and “not having children” in order to make my goal of travel more attainable. Well, now I’m 30 years old and I’ve traveled to the Middle East, Europe, and Asia. So far I’ve been to almost 20 countries and I don’t think I’ll be satisfied until the number of countries I’ve been to is larger than the number of countries I’ve never seen.

After leaving my tiny hometown of Missouri and really seeing the outside world for the first time, I knew I was hooked. The world is so much more complicated and wonderful and diverse than I ever imagined. There are several reasons why I’ve decided to start blogging about my adventures:

  1. The world isn’t nearly as scary as I thought it would be or as the media makes it out to be. I’ve been all over the Middle East, India, and parts of Asia and never felt in danger.
  2. Stereotypes get shattered when you travel. You meet people and realize there’s more to them then what you’ve been taught in your cultural studies class at the university or what you’ve seen on TV. I’ve learned people are just people and generally want the same things as everyone else.
  3. You reflect on your own culture: the weird habits, detrimental traditions, the flaws, and the advantages. Traveling has made me more patriotic, but less ethnocentric.

My goal was originally to travel to every country in the world, but let’s be realistic. There are 196 countries and I’ve been to about 20. A more attainable goal might be to visit every continent. But mostly, I just want to experience the world, try new things, learn other languages, broaden my horizons, and get all that I can out of this life.

Looking forward to my next adventure…

Leave a Reply

